A new proverb

November 3, 2007

On the BBC World News yesterday afternoon, a reporter quoted a proverb which I had never heard before. (I was cooking supper at the time and was not listening too closely to the radio, so I don’t remember what he was actually reporting on; perhaps American voting habits.) He cited it as follows: “You can take the boy out of New Jersey, but you can’t take New Jersey out of the boy.”

Being a native son of the Garden State, I can attest to the truth of this saying, and heartily approve of it.

4 Responses to “A new proverb”

  1. Wei Hsien Says:

    Peter,

    I hope you have seen the movie, “The Garden State, which is one of my favorites, and the only other source of my knowledge about your home. (Sorry.)

    W.H.

  2. bekkos Says:

    Dear Mr. Hsien,

    No, I’m sorry, I haven’t seen the movie.

    Incidentally, my guess is that this saying may have come from the TV show “The Sopranos.” I have not actually seen this television show, but most people apparently have, and it would be a likely source for a British reporter to be citing such a line, as though it were common knowledge.

    Peter

  3. bekkos Says:

    Mr. J. Blood, of Berkeley, California, writes:

    “…I can tell you one thing: there was a cigarette jingle in the golden days of our youth when cigarettes could be advertised on TV and commercials had original jingles rather than recycled pop songs that went: ‘You can take Salem out of the country but/ but you can’t take the country out of Salem.'”

  4. Fr Tito Says:

    I remember that commercial. But remember, “Kent will satisfy your lips!”

    The old adage was something like “You can take the boy out of the country, but you can’t take the country out of the boy.” or perhaps, “farm” for “country”.

    PS, Love your blog!


Leave a Reply

