Apologies

August 14, 2009

This has been an unusually hectic week for me, and next week promises to be even more so. I have been on the road most of the past week, shuttling back and forth between New Jersey and Long Island, singing at various church services and attending a burial service in Pennsylvania on Wednesday (a very pious Greek lady who attended my parish in New Jersey died last weekend and was buried at a monastery); tonight I drive back to Long Island, to attend two liturgies over the weekend and to sing at a concert Sunday afternoon. On Monday I will drive to Cleveland, Ohio to look into a possible teaching position at a private school; at the same time, I have just been informed that I need to get the final proofs of my article for Communio back to them by Wednesday. Aggravating this frenetic hurrying about, I have pretended to be a computer geek, and attempted to set up a double-booting system on a laptop I purchased the other day; the results have been pretty horrendous, and, as I write this, I am waiting for the hard drive to finish reformatting before I leave for Long Island, hoping that there will be at least one working operating system on the machine before the procedure is all through.

All of this is offered in extenuation for my continuing, long-term neglect of this blog, and to give notice that that neglect will probably be prolonged for at least the next week or two. Wishing readers of this blog a blessed feast of the Dormition of the Theotokos.

5 Responses to “Apologies”

  1. J Blood Says:

    The link to your concert does not appear to work, but a Peter Gilbert performance is always worth hearing. I believe the last one I attended was at radio station WBRS in Walthan, MA. Best of luck with your visit to Cleveland!

  2. bekkos Says:

    Johny,

    You’re right about the link, although the URL is correct. My guess is that the site is temporarily down, for repairs and cleaning. The concert, which occurred this past afternoon at St. Mary’s Church in Amityville, went well. At least, the audience stood up at the end, which is always a good sign, and they fed us afterwards.

    I found at least one working link on the site: http://www.spiritoforthodoxy.com/aboutus.html. Some of the pages on the site do appear to be down. And, on the “Concert History” page, there is a misspelling; someone has written “Let My Payer Arise” instead of “Let My Prayer Arise.” Perhaps a Freudian slip.

    Peter

  3. Veritas Says:

    Hey Peter,

    Just dropping by to say good luck on that teaching position. Cleveland would be lucky to have a teacher, such as yourself, on the faculty. I know you’ve been wanting to get back into teaching, in some form or another; hope everything works out.

    In Christ,

    -Veritas

  4. Tap Says:

    You have a closed quote (“) in the URL , that’s why its not working.

  5. bekkos Says:

    Thanks, now it’s fixed.


Leave a Reply

