A job

August 31, 2010

Last week, I received a telephone call from the head of the Religion Department at Seton Hall University in South Orange, New Jersey, who asked if I would be willing to teach two sections of an introductory course on World Religions this fall. I thought about it, and, the next day, accepted the offer. With some difficulty, I managed to choose a textbook and put together a preliminary syllabus in time for the first class, which was yesterday. Because the course covers much material that is either new to me or that I have not looked at for many years, I have a lot of preparation to do. For this reason, my maintenance of this blog will undoubtedly suffer; I may post an occasional article from time to time, but it is unlikely that I will be able to answer any comments. Once the initial flood of work ebbs, I hope to be able to return to my work on Bekkos; I had hoped to get a revised edition of the Greek text of his De unione ecclesiarum finished by the end of this year; at this point, it looks like that project will probably be delayed. But, like all living creatures, I must feed myself; and I am grateful to the Department of Religion of Seton Hall University for giving me means to do so.

10 Responses to “A job”

  1. T. Chan Says:

    Thanks be to God!

  2. Tap Says:

    Congrats!

  3. James G Says:

    Congratulations.

    James G

  4. Veritas Says:

    Congrats Peter! That’s great news; Seton Hall is fortunate to have you.

    -Veritas

  5. Wei Hsien Says:

    Congratulations! I teach that course in Malaysia and would be interested in looking at your syllabus if you don’t mind!

  6. vito Says:

    Auguri on your new job! Vito

  7. bekkos Says:

    Thanks to all of you for your good wishes.

    Wei Hsien,

    I’ll get a copy of the syllabus to you by e-mail.

    Peter

  8. Rebecca M Says:

    Congratulations, Peter.

    Hope it goes well.

    — Rebecca


  9. Good show, Peter. I’ve just got a job teaching “critical thinking” in Syracuse.

  10. bekkos Says:

    Michael,

    Congratulations to you! I’m sure that, by the time the semester is through, your students will be thinking quite critically.

    Also, I just noticed today for the first time that WordPress.com has started placing advertisements underneath blog posts. This is an unhappy development; I’ll have to see if there’s some way of turning them off.

    Peter


Leave a Reply

