The Lyceum School

July 9, 2011

All right, I’m able now to make it public. Starting this fall, I will be teaching at the Lyceum School, near Cleveland. It is a Catholic private school, grades 7 through 12, which emphasizes the Trivium (grammar, logic, rhetoric) and, to some extent, the Quadrivium (arithmetic, geometry, music, though, so far as I know, not much astronomy), and does this, to a great extent, using a Great Books methodology. The school was founded by Mark Langley, a graduate of Thomas Aquinas College, and the present headmaster, Luke Macik, is also a graduate of that college, which may give readers some indication of the school’s educational philosophy and character: it is intellectually rigorous and theologically conservative. A number of the students, I am told, have won national awards for their proficiency in Latin; also, their choir is very impressive. I gave my Filioque lecture there nearly two years ago, both before the students, in the morning, and before the general public in the evening; the students asked good, sharp questions, and, in general, in the few times I have seen them at work, I have been impressed with their maturity and dedication. (Luke Macik, the headmaster, asked me also to let readers of this blog know that, at the Lyceum School, they do “the extraordinary form of the mass” once a month. That is to say, there is, I believe, a weekly mass for the school at the church next door, with the students forming the choir; once a month, this mass is said in Latin in the Tridentine form.)

I am going to be teaching the following classes this fall:

  • Greek (New Testament)
  • Latin (Level One)
  • Medieval History
  • Algebra
  • Botany
  • Biology

This may seem like a lot, and, in fact, it is a lot. Perhaps I will also be supplied with a cape and a Superman outfit, so that I may fly back and forth from the school to my apartment while doing Greek and Latin paradigms in my head. But, probably, I will dress like any normal person, and will do the Greek and Latin paradigms while taking public transportation.

In any case, this schedule may give readers a better idea of why, recently, I let it be known that this blog is likely to see some serious interruption in the coming months. I clearly have a lot of work to do. And that, all in all, is a good thing.

7 Responses to “The Lyceum School”

  1. T. Chan Says:

    Very challenging for the students and the teachers. May our Lord bless your endeavors!

  2. Karl Says:

    Hooray! Gainful employment is not to be sneezed at.

    Please give my regards to the headmaster.


  3. Dear Peter,
    Happy for you amidst the 9.2 (probably 19%) unemployment, also now affecting teachers!
    A stiff regimen, but you can do it !
    I hope you will continue with your translations of Bekkos and his fellow unionists that throw light on their understanding of the breach of communion with Rome. Very important research you are doing for which I am expecially appreciative.

  4. Vito Says:

    Glad that you’ll be here in Ohio. As you know I wasn’t able to meet you the last time you were here and spoke to the Youngstown-Warren chapter of the Society of St. John Chrysostom on the “filioque.” Perhaps we’ll have another opportunity. Wow, sounds like a brutal schedule! Wishing you all the best, Vito

  5. bekkos Says:

    Ted,

    Thanks for the prayers and good wishes!

    * * *

    Karl,

    I am not one to sneeze at gainful employment, unless of course the job induces in me an allergic reaction; this one does not, and I foresee no sneezing at the job (though, of course, I may sneeze on the job, depending on my state of health). I will communicate to the headmaster your cordial regards.

    * * *

    Jim (if I may be so informal),

    Thanks for your good wishes. We indeed are living in hard times; to call this a “recession” is no doubt to employ a euphemism. And I am very grateful for the job; when I got the news from Luke Macik, my first sentence, in reply, was “Thank God!” It will indeed be a lot of work; but all the subjects, in their different ways, are of interest to me; and, as St. Augustine counted himself among those who learn as they write, so I must count myself among those who learn as they teach.

    I fully intend to continue the work on Bekkos, Kyparissiotes, and others. It is slow work, but I am sure that, in God’s time, it will bear good fruit.

    Hoping you and all your family are well in Montour Falls.

    * * *

    Vito,

    I very much look forward to meeting you at last. Youngstown, as I recall, is about an hour’s drive from Cleveland; I should be able to attend at least some meetings of your chapter of the Society of St. John Chrysostom. You will have to fill in the large gaps in my knowledge about the Buckeye State.

    Peter

  6. James Morgan Says:

    Blessings on your new job (or is it a vocations) as the son, and grandson of teachers (I skipped it but by daughter is a teacher, so it must be genetic!) I congratulate you, and pray for you and your students.

    Rdr. James Morgan
    Olympia,WA

  7. Luke Says:

    Hi Peter,

    I thought that your readers might be interested in learning that the students of the Lyceum, all of whom sing in choir, attend not only the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite, but the Divine Liturgy as well. We might be the only school in the country that is singing “with both lungs!”

    I am very pleased to have you as member of the Lyceum faculty.

    Luke


Leave a Reply

