At the end of a year of teaching

June 8, 2012

Grades were sent in today; I still need to send students their graded final exams; will probably get around to that task tomorrow. But, for the time being, while my potatoes are boiling on the stove, I will do something I have not done for some months, and attempt to post something to this blog.

The long hiatus in my writing anything on this public space has been entirely necessary. For much of the past nine months, in my work as a teacher at the Lyceum School, I have attempted to teach six (at times seven) separate subjects: Ancient Greek, Latin, Algebra, Medieval History, Biology, and New Testament, with lately also a class in drawing thrown in for good measure. One visible result of this activity is a noticeable increase in grey hairs on the top of my head. I am worn out, and need a vacation.

It is, however, not merely excess of work that has kept me from this forum. It is also the necessity to remain circumspect. I was asked, early in the school year by someone whom I shall not name but upon whom my paycheck depends, not to express certain political views on this blog; I have complied with that request, largely by writing nothing. It is just as well; there is nothing very important that I have had to say.

Nevertheless, at the risk of disseminating illicit political opinions, I will give here a sentence from our Latin exam. I made up the sentence, in part to illustrate certain grammatical points (especially, the use of the passive periphrastic construction and the future participle), but also because I agree with the proposition that the sentence asserts. Here it is:

Mundus servandus est pro postea vîcturis.

Perhaps one of you bright people out there in blog-readership land will know what this sentence means. If not, it is a sign that you need to enroll at the Lyceum School outside of Cleveland.

(Incidentally: vîcturis is not from vinco, vincere, but from something else.)

